India level series, defeat South Africa by 82 runs

Team India defeated South Africa by 82 runs in the fourth T20 International match played in Rajkot. With this, the Indian team has achieved a 2-2 draw in the five-match series. Dinesh Karthik (55 runs), Hardik Pandya (46 runs) and Avesh Khan (4 wickets) were the heroes of India’s victory. Batting first, India scored 169 runs for the loss of six wickets in 20 overs. In reply, South Africa could only manage 87 runs in 16.5 overs for the loss of nine wickets.

This is Team India’s biggest win over South Africa in T20 Internationals. The previous record was 48 runs. That victory came in the last match played in Visakhapatnam in the same series. This is the fifth biggest win for India overall. The record is 143 runs. The Indian team had defeated Ireland by this margin in Dublin in 2018.

Temba Bavuma Retired Heart
South Africa captain Temba Bavuma got injured on the ball of Bhuvneshwar Kumar. In the third over, Bhuvi’s ball took a wonderful bounce and the ball went and hit Bavuma’s chest. After that he tried to play for some time, but he felt very uncomfortable and went back to the pavilion.

Dwayne Pretorius came to bat in his place. Dwayne Pretorius and Quinton de Kock were dismissed early after Bavuma went back to the pavilion. 14 and Pretorius could not even open their account with Dekock’s bat.

Miller could not play a big innings
David Miller, who was South Africa’s biggest hope in this match, could not do much and got out after scoring 9 runs in 7 balls. He was clean bowled by Harshal Patel.

Team India’s opener Rituraj Gaikwad could not do much in the match and scored 5 runs in 7 balls and was caught by Quinton de Kock on the ball of Lungi Ngidi. Shreyas Iyer, who came to bat at number 3, also could not bat for long and got out after scoring just 4 runs. Iyer’s bat has not been able to do anything special in this series. They have got a good start but haven’t been able to convert it into a big innings.

Ishan Kishan, who was in excellent form for Team India, also did not play in the fourth T20, Ishan got a good start but he could not convert it into a big score. Ishan was dismissed for 27 runs in 26 balls. His wicket was taken by Enrique Nortya.

Indian team captain Rishabh Pant has lost the toss for the fourth time in a row. Once again, the Indian team has not made any changes in their playing XI.

Playing 11 India for both the teams : Ishan Kishan, Rituraj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (Captain), Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Yuzvendra Chahal.
South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Temba Bavuma (captain), Recy van der Dusen, David Miller, Henrik Klaasen, Dwayne Pretorius, Marco Yensson, Lungi Ngidi, Keshav Maharaj, Enrique Nortya, Tabariz Shamsi.

To Top